The rest of the holiday plus epic plane ride!

Been a bit busy lately since I came back from Brisbane, so haven’t been very active…any who here is the rest of my holiday!

DAY 9

The day was pretty relaxed and chilled to begin with, I spent the morning lazing around and uploading the previous post before deciding to head out to Carindale and suss out a dress to wear for my cousins graduation.

OOTD!
OOTD!
SOTD! (Selfie of the day;))
SOTD! (Selfie of the day;))

I didn’t end up finding a dress, but I found a really cute play suit though!

After I walked around a bit more, my Aunty wanted to meet up with me so we could look for Christmas presents for my 奶奶 (grandma) and my 爷爷 (grandpa). I remember meeting her at a mini bar because she had spent the last 3hrs out touring a university campus with her English class…on a 30+ degree day!! So when I found her I couldn’t help but laugh at her; red faced and downing a large glass of white.

I later met up with my cousin and her boyfriend to drive over to visit my second cousins; when I last saw them- a year ago- the were so much littler and younger! This time I saw them the youngest could already stand. I couldn’t help but mock the situation we were in since in Chinese our second cousins are regarded as our Aunties and Uncles, because they are our parents cousins and our cousins are what we call ‘adoptive brothers and sisters’ hence being aunties and uncles. Hopefully that made sense haha…

DSC_4454    DSC_4443

We stayed at their house for a longer than expected due to some heavy thunderstorm; after it had eased a bit, we said our goodbyes and met up with a friend for some pho and bubble tea. No, you cannot get any more Asian then that.

DAY 10

Last full day in Brisbane:(

My cousin and I woke up really early to head out to the city and have breakfast before getting ready for her big day (by ‘big day’ I mean her graduation ceremony not her wedding haha)

IMG_2602

The ferry ride to the place we had breakfast!
The ferry ride to the place we had breakfast!
Not the sunniest day but still nice!
Not the sunniest day but still nice!

The ceremony started at 2pm but my cousin had to get there a bit earlier to suit up and do a run through.

The actual ceremony was really inspiring with really motivational guest speakers and even an activity that required some graduates to walk on glass in front of the whole audience! Definitely the most interesting presentation I’ve been too.

DSC_4469

DSC_4487   DSC_4475 The event ended with a live performance of On top of the world by Imagine Dragons and a shower of balloons and glitter…the perfect way to end in my opinion!

DSC_4491     DSC_4492

We spent the rest of the night celebrating with cheap chicken wings – which my cousin and her boyfriend shared 30 of…- while I stuck to my quesadillas. We played pool and wasted the night away talking and meeting new people.

LAST DAY…THE CRAZY PLANE RIDE!

Another early morning because we spent the night in the city and needed to be back at home by 8am to pack in time for my 10:40 flight back to Melbourne. When we got home at around 7;30 I thought I had plenty of time to pack and shower before heading to the airport…turns out I was so wrong. I had misread/ forgotten the actual time of my flight and instead of 10:40am like I thought it was it was actually 9;15am! So seeing this I cussed a few times before composing myself (sorta) and found everything in the house that was mine and shoved it into my suitcase; at this point my cousin was freaking out too but I was confident I had enough time because at this point it was only about 8am; we picked up my cousins boyfriend and began our trip to the airport. Usually a 15min drive turned into a half an hour trip due to a car accident on the highway…even my cousin said that this road was never congested! By the time I got the airport there was still 30mins to take off so I sprinted over to the check in counter but unfortunately I didn’t make and had to take the next available flight back to Melbourne at 2:20pm.

We went back home and had some breakfast and watched a movie while I packed my stuff neatly back into my suitcase; we left at 12:00 because we did not want to miss another flight. When I got to the airport my flight had been delayed by 20mins which wasn’t too bad…but then another 20mins was added on…the another 20mins…

Finally we boarded the plane at 2:50pm for a 3pm take off; but when we hadn’t moved for 15mins we knew something was up…turns out a storm had broken out and the weather conditions were too severe to fly in, and passengers were required to wait inside the plane until the conditions had calmed. 45mins had passed and the current pilots had exceeded their flight times and we had to wait 90mins+ for other pilots to arrive. When they had finally arrived we did not take off until 6:30pm as we were 8th in queue for take off…all the passengers cheered when we finally took off!

All in all were stuck in the plane for 6hrs total…lets just say its a trip I will not forget; touching down in Melbourne at 10pm I knew there was no way I could make the train back home, so I stayed at my cousins apartment in the city and woke up early the next morning to catch a 3hr train back home.

Although this trip was less fun than my usual ones, it was an adventure nether the less…can’t wait for the next one!

Leave a Reply

